Thinning Out the Masses – Daily Prompt (Taper)

Taper

We think that everything we write is good. Most writers hate editing, but that’s a very important step in perfecting the work.

When I finished the first draft of The Rotunda, it had 5,000 more words than the final draft.

I let a couple of people read it and received good criticism, mostly toward removing unnecessary detail.

I knew I had to taper the manuscript, so I got to work.

Thinning out the masses was the best thing I could have done. It flows so much better now.

After editing it myself, I hired a professional copy editor to give it another look. Apparently, I missed a few things, so it’s a good thing I did.

Editing really is very beneficial toward perfecting one’s work.

If you have a project you’re working on, I suggest you check for anything you can taper while you’re editing, because I guarantee that not everything we write is good. At least not right away.

2 thoughts on “Thinning Out the Masses – Daily Prompt (Taper)

Leave a Reply

