Body Heat – Short Story

I wake to the blaring noise of an alarm, but I don’t open my eyes until I hear my cabin mate’s scuffles.

“What’s going on?” I ask.

“The ship’s hit an asteroid. We need to make sure there’s no complications,” says the ship’s engineer, Kayla Manning.

We get dressed and head to the cockpit, where Victor Stein, the captain of Starry Dust is already manually out-maneuvering the asteroid field.

“Manning, check the status of the ship’s damage and Palensky, man the weapons and radio headquarters about our situation.

“Yes, Captain,” we reply.

I almost lose my balance, as the captain has to make an exaggerated maneuver to avoid a space rock, but I make it to my seat and call headquarters as I grab the weapon joy stick.

“Mayday, mayday, this is Starry Dust,” I speak into the radio, as I begin shooting the closest asteroids.

“There’s 56% of damage and rising,” says Kayla from behind the ship’s master computer. “We need to stop on the nearest planet before we lose one of our engines.”

“We’re here, Starry Dust. What’s your situation?” comes from the radio.

“Our ship’s hit an asteroid field. We have over 50% damage and need to stop to repair it,” I say, shooting a big rock. It shatters into smaller pieces.

Captain Stein does another unbalancing movement with the ship, avoiding the pieces and exiting the rocky field.

“Do you need any immediate assistance?” says the voice from the radio.

I look up at them in question.

Kayla gets up and reaches for the supply cabinet.

“With damage this high, I don’t think these patching cans will be enough,” she says.

“Yes, we do,” I say into the radio.

“What is your location?” says radio man.

“It looks like Planet Nippy is the closest stop. We should be there in about 30 minutes at this speed,” says Kayla.

“We will be arriving at Planet Nippy in about 30 minutes,” I say.

“Okay. Our agent will contact you as soon as he’s there.”

“What’s his ETA?” I ask.

“Twelve hours.”

“Twelve hours!” I exclaim.

“Planet Nippy is a bit far from our headquarters even in our fastest spaceship,” he says. “Just power it off and send me your exact location once you get there to give to the assigned agent.”

“Okay… Thank you.”

“Twelve hours! What has spaceship assistance come to?” I say.

“That’s nothing. Just last year, Captain Merlot’s team got stranded for 36 hours at Planet Taiga!” says Captain Stein. “I’ll take the cold over jungles any day.”

“Touché,” says Kayla.

About 30 minutes later, it’s as if the ship knows it’s reaching safety, because it powers down on its own just as we reach Planet Nippy.

“One of the engines has gone down. The ship can’t fly without it,” says Kayla just as the computer shuts down and Captain Stein barely manages to land without crashing.

“Is everybody okay?” he asks.

“Yes,” Kayla and I reply.

Captain Stein tries powering up the ship to no avail.

“I’ll never understand why the mechanical and electrical systems in transportation devices were united in 3009. We’re gonna freeze to death before the spaceship assistance agent gets here,” I say.

“Calm down, Jenna. We’ll figure it out,” says Kayla.

“Why does something have to go wrong on my first run?” I ask.

“We’ll be okay,” my captain reassures.

“We might as well start building a fire,” I say.

“What, in here?” asks Captain Stein.

“I don’t know. I’m just saying… It’s gonna get below zero in here soon.”

“We can’t go outside in this weather. Our best choice is to stay in here,” says Kayla.

“But how are we going to stay warm? I’m not sure our jackets and blankets will be enough. We’re practically sucking in cold in this metal trap,” I say.

“I… There’s only one way I can think of. It might be a little unorthodox, but it should work,” says Kayla.

“What?” Captain Stein asks.

“Body heat,” she says.

“What? Like, lying with each other naked?” I ask.

“Um, yeah. The clothes would just block the heat transmission.”

“This would be completely unethical,” says Captain Stein.

“Would you rather run the risk of freezing to death?” says Kayla.

“Of course not, but is this really the only way?” he asks.

“The heater isn’t working and we can’t build a fire in here or go outside. So, yeah, I’d say so.”

“Okay, but can we at least wait ’til we’re in dire need?” I ask, just as my body shudders involuntarily.

“Okay, but I think some of us are already starting to feel the freezing temperature,” says Kayla, also shaking.

“We should probably go to my chamber. It’s the biggest,” says Captain Stein.

“I agree,” says Kayla.

They both walk toward the captain’s quarters, as I hug myself, still shivering.

“I can’t do this,” I say.

“Jenna, you’re going to freeze to death if you don’t get under those covers with us. This is about survival. Nothing else,” says Kayla.

“You don’t understand,” I whisper.

“What I don’t understand is why your survival instinct isn’t clouding any other thoughts,” she says.

Defeated, I walk with them to the bedroom.

“Well, might as well rip this off like a Band-Aid,” says Captain Stein, as he undresses in a speedy manner and Kayla follows.

“We’ll take turns being in the middle,” she says, removing her shirt, revealing beautiful perky breasts.

I shake my head, trying not to look, as my eyes fall unto the bottom half of Captain Stein, as he removes his briefs.

“It’s cold,” he says, as he catches me looking.

“I didn’t…” I begin.

“So, who’s going first?” Kayla interrupts.

“What?” I ask.

“In the middle. Who’s gonna be in the middle first?”

“I don’t care,” I say.

Captain Stein shrugs.

“Okay, I guess I’ll go first,” she says, as she removes her hair band, letting her long brown hair flow over her breasts.

She quickly makes her way to the bed and gets under the covers. Captain Stein follows, hugging her from behind.

“Are you gonna stand there all day or are you gonna join us?” she says.

Here goes nothing. I’ll probably have to start looking for another job as soon as we get back to Earth.

I undress and get under the covers, giving Kayla my back.

I instantly feel the heat from her body.

“Oh, my god,” I say.

“I know. Wait ’til you’re the one in the middle,” she says.

I feel her nipples against my back and my groin somersaults.

I don’t know if I’m going to be able to resist myself for long.

“Mm,” I exhale, involuntarily, pushing my body closer to Kayla.

“You’re really enjoying this,” she says.

“You have no idea,” I say, turning around.

I put my breasts against hers and place my leg over hers.

She looks at me questioningly.

“My front needs body heat now,” I say.

“You can have the middle if you want,” she says, attempting to move, but I place my hand on her face to stop her.

“Do you know something that makes body heat better?” I ask.

She raises her eyebrows in question.

“Friction,” I say, placing my lips against hers and lowering my hand to her butt. I squeeze it and she jumps in surprise.

I push her shoulder gently. Captain Stein scoots back and Kayla is on her back. I climb on top of her.

“This is about survival. Nothing else,” I repeat her words and kiss her again, as I cup one of her breasts.

Her eyes are still closed when I pull apart. Captain Stein is staring in awe. I pull his face closer to me and kiss him, too.

“Don’t think we’re leaving you out,” I say.

I pull him closer and match his lips with Kayla’s. I join in a three-way.

Soon we’re all lost in each other’s bodies, all hesitation left behind.

I don’t know how long we spent loving each other, before we all spread on the bed, panting.

“Or whatever you want it to be,” I say.

“What?” says Kayla, laughing.

“Earlier I said this was about survival, but damn this was amazing,” I say.

“I couldn’t agree more,” says Victor.

“This is why I hesitated to get in bed with you naked,” I say.

“What do you mean?” says Kayla.

“I’m a nymphomaniac,” I answer.

They both laugh.

“Out of all the people to get stranded with on a cold planet, I get a nymphomaniac. There is a god,” says Victor.

I laugh.

“Well, I’m here whenever… For both of you,” I tell them.

“Really?” Kayla and Victor say in unison.

“Sure. We’re going to spend most of our time on this ship together. I’m surprised you two hadn’t done anything yet.”

“I didn’t know how,” they both say.

They turn to look at each other.

“Really?”

“Whoa, I hope I didn’t ruin anything, getting in between,” I say.

“Of course not!” says Kayla, grabbing my hand. “I loved this experience and I’ve got to say, I’m not against polyamorous relationships.

“I…” I begin.

“Oh, my god, did I just say relationship? Is this even…? I mean…”

“What man doesn’t want to be with two women?” says Victor.

“I’ve never been more satisfied in my life. You two are all I need,” I say, kissing Victor, then Kayla.

“Mm,” Kayla moans against my lips and before we know it, our bodies are one again.

I wake to loud thumps on metal. The agent!

“Guys, there’s someone at the door,” I say.

“Has it been 12 hours already?” says Kayla.

“We should probably get dressed,” says Victor.

We open the door to the spaceship once we’re fully clothed and in comes a man with thick winter clothes, covered in snow.

“Finally,” he says. “You had me waiting long enough. The ship’s been patched. You just have to reboot it from the inside.”

“Thank you,” says Victor.

“Yeah, yeah,” says the man, stepping out.

“What got up his ass?” says Kayla.

“I know what got up mine,” I say.

“Oh, my god,” she says, laughing.

“Any time, baby,” says Victor, kissing me.

I pull Kayla in to share it with us.

“As much as I’d like to get in bed with you two again. We have a new mission,” says Kayla.

“To many more missions together,” says Victor, kissing us.

“To many more,” I say. “Thank goodness for body heat being the remedy for hypothermia.”

We all laugh, as we get in our seats and start our forever voyage together.

Leave a Reply

