Forgive and Forget – Poem

 

PicsArt_06-05-09.06.06Originally written some time in 2011.

Poem (Pantoum form):

Hurt and broken I’ve been left a thousand times,

But all I’m told is to forgive and forget–

I can’t let it go; not now and not ever.

I’ve been shattered and broken into pieces,

But all I’m told is to forgive and forget.

Tell me how to do it, I will if I can

I’ve been shattered and broken into pieces,

I think I deserve a little more respect.

Tell me how to do it, I will if I can

You can’t just tell me to forgive and forget,

I think I deserve a little more respect.

Show me how to do it and maybe I’ll try,

But for now, I cannot forgive and forget.

I’m still suffering; the wounds have not healed yet.

My wounds will not heal, there will only be more,

Because I take everything too seriously.

I’m still suffering; the wounds have not healed yet,

They’ll be there forever waiting for nothing.

Because I take everything too seriously,

My sentimental heart aches with every word.

They’ll be there forever waiting for nothing,

Nothing will come to mend my aching wounds.

My sentimental heart aches with every word,

Every word that is told to me hurtfully.

You may not think what I feel is a big deal,

But I’ve been told many hurtful things before.

“Do you titi slap your own face when you run?”

That among others is what still wounds my heart.

I’ve been told many hurtful things before,

“You won’t make it through college, none of us did.”

That among others is what still wounds my heart.

Those words have affected me forever on.

“You won’t make it through college, none of us did.”

It still hurts remembering who said those words,

Those words have affected me forever on,

It won’t be easy to forgive and forget.

It won’t be easy to let go of the past,

Nothing will be easy when it comes to this.

Forgive and forget is what you ask of me;

Tell me, who are you to tell me what to do?

Nothing will be easy when it comes to this,

My heart won’t forgive and my mind won’t forget;

Tell me, who are you to tell me what to do?

Save your cruel breath, I’ll go at my own pace, scum.

My heart won’t forgive and my mind won’t forget,

I’ll deal with this shit later, I don’t need this!

Save your cruel breath, I’ll go at my own pace, scum.

When I’m ready: I will forgive and forget.

Leave a Reply

